Posted by: Matt | November 1, 2007

October Breakdown

Wow, I did not have a very good October. It was my lowest page count since February. I think I’m starting to get back into the swing of things though so November should be much better. On with the details:

-5 books:

  • Shadow & Claw by Gene Wolfe
  • Warlock by Oakley Hall
  • House of the Deaf by Lamar Herrin (review soon to be submitted to Curled Up, now available)
  • Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee by Dee Brown
  • Rowing without Oars by Ulla-Carin Lindquist (review soon to be written for Curled Up)

-1758 pages

-3.90 average rating

-2 books read for Curled Up

-Favorites: Warlock and Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee

-Least Favorite: House of the Deaf

I may have not read as many pages as usual but the ones I did read were good, a 3.9 average rating is pretty darn good for me. And I’m on pace for 72 books read this year. I’m sure I will make it into the 70s. You’d think with that many my TBR list would be getting smaller, but it’s not. I’m sure you can all relate…

Responses

  1. I gotta start breaking my reading down like this!! I really like the sound of Warlock!!

  2. Stephanie – It’s a fun post that I enjoy doing at the end of each month. I’ve noticed that quite a few bloggers do it, you should give it a shot! Warlock was quite good, let me know if you check it out.

  3. Of course we can all relate!

    I only started my blog in late April, which means I only started keeping track of how much I read in May. I’d never in my life even thought to count the books I read per year, but now that I see so many other bloggers with their book counts or their goals like your 72, I’m dying of curiosity. I thought I’d just do a per-month average at the end of the year and count that many for January through April, to come up with an estimated yearly total.

    Like you, I find this type of post a lot of fun, both to do and to read in other blogs.

  4. Dew – I started my blog in April as well, but did happen to start keeping track of my reading at the first of the year, kind of a New Years resolution I guess. My goal of 72 is kind of a loose one, each month I average out how many books I’ve read a month and it seems like I keep coming up with 72 or about that as a final estimate. What I want to do is take a look at my page total at the end of the year and try to match that or better it next year since that is a better tool as reading a long book can drag down your book total but not your page total. So I might read less books but end up with the same page total. Make sense, or did I slaughter that?


Leave a Reply

Categories

