Posted by: Matt | November 8, 2007

Booking Through Thursday – Volume

btt button

Would you say that you read about the same amount now as when you were younger? More? Less?
Why?

I read a tremendous amount more now than I ever have in my life. This year I have really become addicted to reading. I’m not really sure what set it off, I have had moods where I feel like I should read more and this last time it was more of a life change than a mood.

I am probably going to read between 70 and 80 books this year. Without knowing for certain I would say my previous high for a year was maybe in the 20s. I never used to read more than one book at a time but now I am almost always in the middle of three. There also used to be breaks in between books, now there is a constant cycle. There is just no comparison to any other time in my life.

I can’t fully explain why I enjoy reading so much, but I did attempt to address that question in one of the earliest posts on this blog (which I can’t find to link to). But it keeps me going, reading book after book.

Responses

  1. I don’t think I read more books now than I did when I was younger, simply because my life has become more full and I don’t have as much time (raising a kid). But, I do certainly find more books that I WANT to read. So when the days come again with more empty hours, I will have plenty of reading material to fill them with, blissfully…

  2. I am envious Matt! I am like Jeane; not much time as always so much going on.
    But I make myself read nightly, and enjoy it immensely..

  3. I hear you. I feel depressed when I’m not reading book after book! I have to make sure that I’ve got something lined up and ready when I’m down to the last 20 pages of a book. I think I’ll tally about 60-70 this year. 🙂

  4. Jeane – Even though I seem to be busier than ever before, with a child and other activities, I get a lot read because of my lunch break at work and the ride to and from work on the train. This time, with a little bit at nights, allows me to get quite a bit of reading done.

    Merri – I can understand your envy, not in a stuck up way :), but when I see people reading like 15 books a month I can’t believe they have that much time and jealously wonder where they get the time!

    Matt – I really enjoy deciding what to read next when I am getting close to the end of my current book. It’s exciting!

  5. I would say I read more books as a youth than now. But, I am certainly exposed to more depth and breath now! But, then, it is our business and life now 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

