Posted by: Matt | November 9, 2007

Checking Out BookBump

I thought I’d take a moment to mention a new book cataloging website I discovered (courtesy of Lifehacker.com).  The site is called BookBump, and it looks a bit like iTunes while doing similar things for you book collection that iTunes does for your music collection (we’re talking organization here, not the player functionality).  I’ve been checking it out today and I think I will be using it in tandem with LibraryThing.  There are some similarities to LibraryThing but without the social networking aspect and adding a few more personal cataloging features.  Some of the features I particularly like are: a nice, large view of the book cover art; a price check window for comparing prices on different web stores; date started and finished fields; a similar books window; and “playlist” creation for categorizing.  I have some screen shots here from my profile, click on the thumbnails for a larger view.

BookBump

BookBump 2

I recommend you check it out, I am really digging it so far.  It will probably end up replacing the Excel spreadsheet I keep of books that I’d like to read.

I also recommend you check out Lifehacker.com and one of it’s sister sites Consumerist.com.  Two excellent sites that I read daily.

Responses

  1. Thanks for these links. I’m very interested in BookBump, and was thinking, like you, of using it in tandem with LibraryThing. Looks great!

  2. Matt, you keep a spreadsheet of books you’d like to read? That’s really smart. Why can’t I be that organized? I’ll definitely check this program out. Thanks.

  3. Sounds like the sort of tool I’d love to use but would never be able to keep up with. Heh.

  4. gentle reader – Yeah, it has a couple of neat options that aren’t available or aren’t as convenient in LibraryThing.

    J.S. Peyton – Yeah, I keep a spreadsheet, I’m kind of a dork when it comes to thinks like that… 🙂

    Heather – It’s definitely easy to get behind using tools like this, and then once you get behind it’s easy to abandon…

  5. Does BookBump give you the option of viewing other people’s libraries, or is it an individual thing? i notice you did say it doesn’t have the social interaction aspect… I am using Library Thing now but sometimes wish it had more options.

  6. Jeane – I haven’t noticed a way to view other libraries, I believe it is just for the individual user.


Leave a Reply

Categories

