Posted by: Matt | November 20, 2007

A Pile of New Books

It seems that Sci-Fi/Fantasy books are creeping their way into my reading more and more lately. I apologize (sort of) to those of you who are not into that genre. But I added a couple more Fantasy books to my shelf this past weekend that have been getting some attention lately. They are:

The Innocent Mage by Karen Miller

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

We also picked up several board books for my 16 month old daughter. Many of them for us to read to her at bedtime right now, because we’ve gotten tired of reading the same ones over and over, and a few to give her for Christmas. We got a few Dr. Seuss books, and several Elmo (or “Melmo” as she says) books because she has recently become obsessed with the little monster. Also a clever little book with Grover called The Monster at the End of this Book. If you’ve got little ones you might want to check that one out if you haven’t already!

And just because I think this is one of the cutest pictures I’ve taken of my daughter (taken with my cellphone, that’s why it’s a bit grainy)…

Nice Shades

Responses

  1. The Monster at the End of this Book was one of my all-time favorite books as a kid. And I used it when I babysat for friends or family when I was a teenager. Clever is the right word. I love that book.

    What a cutie, btw!

  2. verbivore – I had never heard of the book until my wife told me about it a few months ago. I was actually excited when she bought it this past weekend so I took the chance to read it to my daughter the next night.

  3. Oh, I love that Grover book! It was one of my favorites for read-aloud time.

    Your daughter’s adorable. How old is she?

  4. The Innocent Mage by Karen Miller…Is this one on the sci-fi end? I really like the fantasy books better but it looks like a good one.

  5. If you’ll remember my Blindness review a while back, I was reduced to talking about that Grover book. Yes, I love that Grover books as well. It’s so much fun to read to kids, isn’t it?

  6. dew – My daughter is 16 months. And she loves to look at books, which pleases my wife and I greatly.

    cowgalutah – The Innocent Mage is definitely in the fantasy camp, it is so far a pretty traditional fantasy read, I’m 50 pages into it right now.

    John Mutford – Oh, that’s right. I do remember you mentioning the book in your review. I think it will be more fun to read to my daughter when she’s old enough to understand it more.

  7. I look forward to hearing about the books, and that’s a cute pic!

  8. Heather – I’ve already started The Innocent Mage so I should be reviewing it in the next few weeks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

