Posted by: Matt | December 3, 2007

Earth and Space

I’ve been reading A Short History of Nearly Everything, an entertaining and fascinating book by the way, and have found myself with a renewed interest in earth sciences, as well as gaining new interest in astrophysics and cosmology. I spent a couple of hours last Friday scouring Amazon for good, but also recent, books on this new topic. I’ve always had a passing interest in astronomy, but as I read Bill Bryson’s book I found the physics behind it just as intriguing. My search of Amazon provided me with a list of about 16 books that looked good, fortunately I had some Borders Rewards bucks to spend. Armed with my list (what a nerd, eh?), I traveled down to Borders on Saturday to pick up two books:

The Fabric of the Cosmos: Space, Time, and the Texture of Reality by Brian Greene

and

Warped Passages: Unraveling the Mysteries of the Universe’s Hidden Dimensions by Lisa Randall

(Click on the author’s names to check out what Wikipedia has to say about them, some brilliant minds these two.)

I’ve also dug up what look to be some great books on evolution and epidemiology. I would also like to find some good books on oceanography and just about any other science really. If anyone has suggestions feel free to pass them along. As you can see my interest in science has really taken off. This is one of the things I love about reading, you find interests you didn’t know you had and it gets you excited to learn.

(As I read back over this post I realized how incredibly nerdy I sound, oh well…)

Responses

  1. Oh, I bought that Greene book a while back when I was hoping to do some research for some science fiction writing. I haven’t gotten to it yet but it’s supposed to be very good!
    Thanks for mentioning the other book too. I’ll check that out. Once I get enough time to do more free-reading I’m going to do so and catch up on my science.

  2. Warped Passages has been on my wishlist on paperbackswap and bookmooch for awhile. I saw her on Charlie Rose, and her research sounds fascinating.

  3. “Nerdy” is good, Matt. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy. I love the way that one book leads to another, to another, etc. until you have to look up and wonder how in the world you ended up with this particular book in hand. That’s a huge part of the fun for me.

  4. I have listened to some interviews with Greene on NPR and really enjoyed them. My husband is a physicist so we talk a lot about these sciency things and I often need some back up material to help me understand. I’m eager to hear your thoughts on the Greene book, maybe its one we would both like to read.

    And I want to second that Nerdy is indeed very good.

  5. SMD – The Elegant Universe by Brian Greene is supposed to be very good as well. If you’re interested I can list the other books I have found as well.

    3m – I had never heard of the book until last week, but it seems to be fairly popular with the number of reviews it has on Amazon. I just hope I can understand these books when I get around to reading them.

    Sam – It is fun to see how reading becomes sort of a chain. It might be interesting, for someone nerdy like me :), to keep track of how one book leads to another.

    verbivore – Wow, a physicist, very impressive. As I said before I’m hoping the language in these books is simple enough for me to grasp, I only took one class in college that dealt with physics and though I got a good grade it was pretty mind boggling.

  6. Not nerdy at all! I read Fabric of the Cosmos at the beginning of the year and really liked it. Some parts of it were kind of a slog, but the last couple of chapters especially were really good.

  7. Nerdy is a good thing. I’ve been delving into the whole time travel thing (or the impossibility of it, but I remain unconvinced because I like the idea too much). I’ve got Brian Greene’s book but I hadn’t even heard of Warped Passages, so for that, I thank you.

  8. Carrie K – Careful getting suggestions from me… πŸ™‚ I have a couple of books on my TBR list that don’t deal with time travel so much but do deal with multiple universes or worlds, like the earth existing in multiple dimensions. Not sure if that’s really similar to time travel, but kind of in that “is it Sci-Fi or is it reality” area. I can give you a few titles if you’d like.


Leave a Reply

Categories

