Posted by: Matt | December 11, 2007

My First Mooch

I mooched my first book last week from Bookmooch and it arrived yesterday.  It came quite fast as I chose a copy from someone in Utah, the same state I live in.  And the best part is the condition it is in.  It looks pretty much like a brand new book.  I’m quite pleased, particularly because the books I send out are in very good condition because I am very anal about my books.  So my first experience with mooching a book has been very satisfactory.

Oh, I suppose I should say which book I got.  I received All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy.  He has become one of my favorite authors after all.  It is the first in the Border Trilogy.

Responses

  1. I am so glad your first mooch was such a good one. Enjoy the McCarthy book – I have it on my shelf as well (probably from bookmooch!)

  2. I really need to sign up for this. So many people use it.

    I have All the Pretty Horses on my list of books to read next year!! Can’t wait to see what you think about it!

  3. verbivore – So am I! I would like to mooch more but I am having a little trouble finding a book I would like, guess you just have to be patient!

    Stephanie – It’s pretty cool and quite easy. The hardest part is getting to the post office to send your books, particularly if you’re lazy like me. 🙂

  4. Glad your first book in the mooch was a good one! I really enjoyed All My Prety Horses. It was my first McCarthy book – I’d seen the movie and thought wth? – not that the book was any clearer, but the prose was lovely and the movie quoted whole passages, I was happy to note.

  5. Carrie K – I have not seen the movie but I might have to watch it after I read the book.


Leave a Reply

Categories

