Posted by: Matt | December 27, 2007

Christmas Gifts

I received quite a stack of books for Christmas from my wife and daughter. I was very spoiled. The haul included fantasy, horror and non-fiction. Not surprising considering my recent fixation on fantasy and non-fiction. My gifts included:

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss – This is the first book in a trilogy. It has been reviewed very well and is on many best of 2007 fantasy lists, and Amazon’s Best of 2007 list.

The Awakened Mage by Karen Miller – The second and concluding volume in a series. I reviewed the first book a week or so ago.

Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson – Another fantasy novel, this is the first in a planned 10 book series of which 7 have been published.

The Terror by Dan Simmons – The horror book I’ve mentioned from an author of both horror and science fiction. Simmons was a school teacher before becoming a full-time writer.

Parallel Worlds by Michio Kaku – A book by a well-known physicist about the crazy theory of branes, or worlds in alternate dimensions.

Nazi Germany and the Jews, Volume 1: The Years of Persecution 1933-1939 by Saul Friedlander – This is the first in a two volume set about the plight of the Jews in Nazi Germany.

Responses

  1. Ohh, those last two sound really interesting! I’m a big…err…WW2 enthusiast. I don’t know if there’s a way to say it right without it sounding wrong, but basically I’m very interested in WW2, so things like that last book are really interesting. Plus, my sister is also rather…err…interested in aspects of the holocaust. I feel weird saying things like that because it sounds like I enjoy the holocaust and war, which I don’t, but I find that part of history to be fascinating. Does that make sense? I don’t want it said that I enjoy the death and destruction, I just have an interest in it.

    Anywho! Oh and the Awakened Mage will hopefully be as good as the first books, which I’m reading right now.

  2. Nice haul, indeed, Matt. I’ll look forward to hearing what you think of them as you make your way through 2008.

  3. Branes? Branes? And yet I am compelled to read it despite the word branes.

    Nice haul.

  4. SMD – I know exactly what you mean, I also am very interested in WWII, Nazism and the Holocaust, but when I tell people that they look at me a little strangely. It can seem a bit morbid. Oh, and watch out for the cliffhanger ending on The Innocent Mage!

    Sam Houston – I’m hoping to get through most if not all of these in 2008, of course that doesn’t mean I will, there are always distractions… 🙂

    Carrie K – Branes is actually short for membranes, it can be a bit confusing talking about it since it sounds the same as brains. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

