Posted by: Matt | December 28, 2007

Top Ten Reads in 2007

So this is the best of the best.  I’ve narrowed the over 70 books I’ve read this year to the ten best in order.  Following the tradition I’ve established in the previous end of year posts this list will start at the best.  No saving the best for last here.  This is the best plain and simple; it doesn’t matter the genre, the year published or whether its fiction/non-fiction.

  1. The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan (rating: 5.0) – I can’t recall reading another book that has caused me to reevaluate so thoroughly the way I and the rest of my fellow Americans live.  Food is pretty darn important after all.
  2. Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy (rating: 5.0) – This is an incredible book, its difficult to explain why so just read it.
  3. A Short History of Nearly Everything (rating: 5.0) – This book inspired me to learn unlike any other book I’ve read.  Two non-fictions in the top three!
  4. Crystal Rain by Tobias Buckell (rating: 5.0) – Buckell’s debut novel is an enormously fun read, if you have any interest in sci-fi check it out.
  5. The Kite Runner by Khaleid Hosseini (rating: 4.75) – An emotionally charged book which I’m sure most of you have already read.
  6. No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy (rating: 4.5) – The second of two McCarthy books on the list.  My only regret is that at my current rate I’ll have no more of his books left to read.
  7. Atonement by Ian McEwan (rating: 4.5) – This was my introduction to McEwan, I’m afraid its so good I can only go down from here.
  8. Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson (rating: 4.5) – Stephenson is one of a handful of authors I discovered in 2007 who are tops on my list for books to read in 2008.
  9. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell (rating: 4.5) – And here’s another of those authors.  This was a complex book that I was left pondering for weeks after finishing.
  10. Black Swan Green by David Mitchell (rating: 4.5) – Much better than I thought any book about a 13 year old boy could be.

And as a bonus… My favorite author discovered in 2007:  Cormac McCarthy (runner-up: David Mitchell)

Responses

  1. Atonement was my intro to McEwan as well, and I loved it! I’ve since read two more; The Innocent wasn’t as good, but The Child in Time was really, really good.

  2. I’ve been meaning to read David Mitchell for years and still haven’t done so. At the very least, I must read “Cloud Atlas” in 2008!

  3. You and me both – number one that is.

  4. I have been wanting to read Black Swan Green, but since it is about a 13 year old boy, I had never done so. I thought that it wouldn’t be able to keep my interest. I’ll give it a try.

  5. I’m surprised Omnivore’s Dilemma was your ultimate number 1. I knew you liked it, but more than a Cormac McCarthy book? Glad to see Kite Runner made the list since I also enjoyed it.

  6. […] and Short Story Collections 34. Bookgasm: The 5 Best Science Fiction stories of 2007 35. A Variety of Words: Top Ten Reads of 2007 36. Pat’s Fantasy Hotlist 37. Fantasy Book […]

  7. An impressive year, Matt. Happy 2008.

  8. Eva – I don’t think I’ve even heard of those McEwan books… The next one I read will be Saturday.

    Kate S – You really should if you can, it’s a great book and written in a very interesting manner.

    Tara – I did see that you had picked that as your top book of 2007, and then I realized that I also had. It actually surprised me when I chose it.

    Most Prepossessing – I wasn’t sure about it either when I read that it was about a 13 year old, but other bloggers were writing such good things about it and I really liked Cloud Atlas so I thought I’d give it a try.

    Lisa – I was surprised that it was my number 1 also, I struggled with whether to make it #1 or Blood Meridian.

    Ted – Thanks Ted, happy 2008 to you as well!

  9. I so agree with Crystal Rain, and am quite happy to have found Buckell’s work. I should read the Omnivore book.

    Happy new year!

  10. Heather – I do recommend The Omnivore’s Dilemma, very enlightening. I am reading the second of Buckell’s books right now…

  11. I loved Atonement. I am debating about seeing the movie. I’m usually disappointed with a book to movie, but I might chance it. The Cloud Atlas and Black Swan Green are both in my tbr pile. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed them. Have a healthy and Happy 2008!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

