Posted by: Matt | January 8, 2008

First Amazon Package of 2008

Now that we have Amazon Prime it is even harder to resist ordering books from Amazon, combine that with their one-click ordering and it’s a financial disaster waiting to happen. Last Friday I received a nice sized order containing all sorts of book goodies. My addiction to non-fiction continues…

The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks – I’ve heard great things about Oliver Sacks so I picked up one of his more popular books.

Killer Germs by Barry and David Zimmerman – I find disease to be both frightening and fascinating.

The Blank Slate by Steven Pinker – I’ve been wanting to read this book for years now. It seems like several bloggers have been reading his newest book which got me excited to try this one.

Death by Black Hole by Neil deGrasse Tyson – The idea of black holes is pretty strange, but so are most things in space.

Wizard of the Crow by Ngugi Wa’Thiong’O – This novel sounds very interesting and has been on my list for the last few months.

Responses

  1. OOH black holes. I’m checking that out immediately…

  2. The only one of those I don’t already have is the novel. Neil deGrasse Tyson’s book is really accessible. Stephen Pinker’s book is fascinating but it’s one of those that I can’t seem to just *finish*. It’s killing me not to buy his new book but how can I? I haven’t finished The Blank Slate!

  3. bibliolatrist – Exactly, how can someone not be fascinated by black holes?

    Carrie K – Wow, you have all four of those? I’ve come close to buying Tyson’s book a few times now and finally did. Your comment also makes me even happier that I finally picked up The Blank Slate.

  4. The Sacks book is fascinating and frightening at the same time. The human mind is so intricate, it’s amazing that more things don’t go awry.

    I’ve not read any of the others, but looks like you’re got some very thought provoking reading ahead – in groups of three, I presume ?

    Thanks for visiting Bookstack šŸ™‚

  5. ravenousreader – With how complex our entire bodies are it is surprising that we don’t succumb to problems more often. The mind is strange thing, governed by strange laws. And yes, I will be reading in groups of three… šŸ™‚

  6. Nice pile there. I’ve been coveting the Sacks book for a while. I think when the paperback to MUSICOPHILIA comes out I’m going to do a Sack double-whammy and buy both.

    As soon as I finish one my narrative books, I’ve decided to start WIZARD OF THE CROW. When I got it I read a few chapters and it was already as interesting as it sounds.

  7. J.S. Peyton – There are a couple of other Sacks books I plan on reading if I like this one, including Musicophilia. I’m interested to see what you think of Wizard of the Crow, I plan on reading it later this year.


Leave a Reply

Categories

