Posted by: Matt | January 11, 2008

I Think I Thought I Knew

Have you ever gotten part way through a book and realized it wasn’t anything like you were expecting? And then have you realized that you had no idea what you were expecting? I’ve had both of these occur to me several times, most recently with a book I am reading right now, Half of a Yellow Sun. However, after about 200 pages I think it may be turning into more of the book I think I thought it was. He, too much thinking… It started off as quite a peaceful story but it now seems to be taking a turn for the bleak as I have come to the war.  This looks as if it is going to be one of those books that fills me with sorrow and helplessness.

Responses

  1. I’ve just read Half of a Yellow Sun and thought it was superb – it was my first book of 2008 and I’m sure is going to be one of my favourites. I think Adichie is a wonderful storyteller.

    (Visiting via Tales from the Reading, btw …)

  2. Make that Tales from the Reading Room

  3. I would either go back and re-read some passages or get through the rest of the book quickly. T feel I cannot waste my time on a book that doesn’t appeal to me.

  4. charlotteotter – Thanks for visiting! The book has so far been interesting. I’m not sure what my final opinion will be but I should finish it in a week or so.

    Matt – It wasn’t really meant as a complaint. It’s not so much that it didn’t meet my expectations as it has just been different than my expectations so far, but that might be changing.

  5. I liked it, but it does get a bit bleak.

  6. ^especially since Adichie does such a good job crafting the setting that you feel like you are right there with them.

  7. sherid – I’m now over half way through the book but I’m still not sure what I think of it…


Leave a Reply

Categories

