Posted by: Matt | May 9, 2008

This town, is coming like a ghost town

Hmm, I’ve been having a little debate with myself.  Return to blogging or stay away…?  I occasionally visit my admin page and see that somehow I’m still getting hits everyday.  In fact I’m getting as many hits as I did when I was actively writing.  I’m not sure how that works out.

One of the things that’s got me rethinking my silence is the Weekly Geeks project which I believe is being headed by Dewey.  I like the idea of linking to other reviews in my reviews.  If I do come back I would like to implement this and I think that my reviews would be much simpler.  I find it entirely too much like work to write a moderately lengthy review which may be why I burned out.

Anyway, I suppose this post could be seen as a test.

Responses

  1. I’ve come to appreciate shorter reviews, myself. I read so many book blogs I loose interest on the long, detailed posts. As to still getting hits while not writing: I have been practically absent from my blog for a month (due to a move) and still got a significant number of hits per day. It was all (according to stats) people using google to find info about books by title. Hope you continue to blog!

  2. Isn’t that a great idea, linking reviews?

    Shorter reviews are much easier to write and read although lengthy ones sometimes have their place.

  3. Good luck deciding! Ironically enough, when I began blogging I wrote short reviews, but now even if I try to write a short review it usually ends up being pretty long. How weird are your stats?! Mine drop about 75% after I’ve stopped for a week, and then hang out around 50-60 until I start blogging again.

  4. If you have readers who like what you write, they’ll keep coming by for quite a while before assuming you’re down for the count. It isn’t that unusual for folks to vanish for a week or a month on the internet. 🙂

  5. I’ve been away for over a month except I’ve programmed the posts to appear on certain days. In fact I’m getting as many hits as I did when I was actively writing and reading blogs.

    Reviews could be rough. I don’t even know what my readers appreciate more: a lengthy, detailed one or a short cliffhanger type. I just keep writing and am sure that I’ll have readers for both. 🙂

    Keep writing.

  6. See…people keep coming back to see where the heck you went! I really hope you stick to blogging. Your reviews are very enlightening. I think you have a great point of view….and I miss your posts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

