Posted by: Matt | June 3, 2008

May 2008 Breakdown

I read more books this last month than any other month in my reading history.  It was also my highest page total for a month.  I am shattering my own records left and right this year.  In May, I read:

-15 books:

  • Warped Passages by Lisa Randall (rating: 7.0)
  • All That Matters by Wayson Choy (rating: 8.5)
  • Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay (rating: 7.0)
  • 20th Century Ghosts by Joe Hill (rating: 7.5)
  • Bright of the Sky by Kay Kenyon (rating: 8.0)
  • The Time Machine by H.G. Wells (rating: 7.5)
  • The Truelove by Patrick O’Brian (rating: 8.0)
  • The World Without Us by Alan Weisman (rating: 8.0)
  • The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith (rating: 7.5)
  • Shadows Linger by Glen Cook (rating: 8.5)
  • Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch (rating: 8.5)
  • The Crying of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon (rating: 6.5)
  • All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy (rating: 8.0)
  • Deliverance by James Dickey (rating: 7.5)
  • Matter by Iain M. Banks (rating: 8.0)

-5,385 pages

-7.8 average rating

-Favorite: Shadows Linger

-Least Favorite: Warped Passages

Responses

  1. Great list! I am wondering if you could suggest any of them that might fall in the category of what I have just read and really love, Some Kind of Angel. The theme, ever popular since 9/11, is one of terrorists with weapons of mass destruction threatening the security of our world. But our terrorist is home-grown and motivated to do a good deed “in the service of the Almighty” originating in the twisted mind of a vindictive maniac.

    Thanks!

  2. Oh no, least favorite was Warped Passages? That’s in my TBR shelves. Why didn’t you like it? Narrative style or inaccuracies?

  3. That is a lot of reading! I didn’t do all that well in May, but that’s prime busy season at schools, and with three kids in school, it was concerts, more concerts, assemblies and, this year, graduation. I’m trying to make up for some lost time, now! Recently finished a great one, a little outside my normal sphere, but that made it even more interesting. It is “One Foot in the Black,” about the lives, training, work, etc. of wildland firefighters. The main character has fled, pretty much, to California, from his abusive firefighter father and takes up the intensely stressful life of a seasonal firefighter. (Think about the news coverage of last year’s California fires; this is it in written form.) Great technical detail and descriptions of fires and firefighting, plus a good story.

  4. Congrats on all of the books read in May! I’ve noticed a spike in my reading since I started this book blog. Ironic since I spead a lot of time blogging. I guess I’m just trying to keep up with the speed readers like you. I like your blog and writing style. I’m adding you to my reader, so I can check in regularly.

  5. WOW! THat is a lot of reading–Congrats! I am giving away a book this month, come and check it out.

  6. Whooo! Grats on breaking records!

  7. Melissa – I’m not sure I have much to recommend that I’ve read in that area. You could take a look at Falling Man by DeLillo…

    Carrie K – It was quite difficult to understand in parts and that is mostly why I gave it my least favorite. It was nothing about inaccuracies or anything like that.

    Lizzie – That looks like an interesting book!

    Jessica – I have definitely read more since starting a blog and I’ve really been reading a lot this year for some reason, just got the bug I guess.

    Kelly – Thanks, I will!

    Heather – Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

