Posted by: Matt | May 15, 2007

I’ve Been Tagged

Sam at Book Chase and Gentle Reader at Shelf Life tagged me for the “8 Things” meme. Let’s see what I can come up with…

The rules –

1: Each player starts with 8 random facts/habits about themselves.
2: People who are tagged, write a blog post about their own 8 random things, and post these rules.
3: At the end of your post you need to tag 8 people and include their names.
4: Don’t forget to leave them a comment and tell them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

1. I was born with a heart murmur, which in my case meant I had a small hole in one of my valves. It closed up around the age of 12. Some children have to have surgery, but mine was small enough I didn’t have to.

2. Sticking with the medical theme: my lung collapsed when I was 20. A small bubble on my left lung popped leaving a hole for air to escape. I spent a week in the hospital recovering from the collapsed lung and the subsequent surgery.

3. My father was in the Air Force, so I guess that makes me a military brat. I was born in Texas, lived in California twice, Ohio and spent my teenage years in the Seattle area where my parents still live. I now live in Salt Lake but hope to someday make it back to Seattle.

4. I’m a bit of a recreational cyclist. I ride my bike a few days a week and will be riding in the MS 150 in June. It’s a charity ride for the Multiple Sclerosis Society. I’ll be riding a century or 100 miles.

5. I enjoy building model airplanes of the plastic variety although it’s taken a backseat to some other interests like reading lately.

6. This is my third attempt at a blog, and the first at a lit blog. My other two didn’t last much more than a week so this one is going much better.

7. I make maps for a living. Maps of Salt Lake County and all sorts of different things within the county.

8. Last, and most definitely not least, I have a beautiful wife and an adorable baby daughter.

Let’s see how many people I can tag now that haven’t already been tagged, I’m kind of new to this blogging thing so I don’t know too many bloggers yet:

Marydell at BookBlog

Tara at Books and Cooks

Kate at Kate’s Book Blog

Stephanie at So Many Books

Iliana at Book Girl’s NightStand

Well, I could only come up with 5 that haven’t already been tagged, sorry to let the “8 things” meme down… Hope you enjoyed learning a little more about me!


Responses

  1. Hey Matt–having the same problem you are–had no idea you were tagged when I tagged you today! Sorry! Well, I’m happy you did the meme anyway, and I got to learn 8 new things about you. I’m really glad about your #8–my #9 would be that I have a wonderful husband and two fabulous sons, and an adorable baby daughter. She’s actually a toddler, but she’s the baby of our family and will probably be called “the baby” for the next 20 years or so 🙂

  2. Gentle Reader – No problem! I did notice late last night that you had tagged me also and decided I would mention in my post that you had tagged me. Made the update this morning!

  3. Thanks, Matt, for your list. Map-making sounds like an interesting profession. I have a friend who collects old maps from previous centuries and I find those things to be little pieces of art in every sense of the word. I only wish that I could afford the hobby…they don’t come cheap.

  4. I also should have mentioned that mapmaking sounds really interesting to me, too. I want to hear more about what that’s like!

  5. Matt, great list. I hope to one day ride in the MS 150. But first I have to tackle the 30/60. I just began riding with any kind of consistency last year, expanding beyond my short commuter bike ride to work and have never ridden more than 15 miles at a stretch. I’m determined though!

  6. Matt, I live cycling as well.

    Re Maps: I find books with a heavy emphasis on locale confusing. I usually give up trying to picture my way around the place- even if they provide a map (Lord of The Rings comes to mind). I’m assuming this is not a problem with you and have you ever done a map for a novel you were reading?

  7. Sam and Gentle Reader – Making maps may sound more interesting than it is. 🙂 I would try to explain a little more about it, but I think the comments section is not quite the place, it would take up too much room. Maybe I’ll write a post about it sometime!

    Stefanie – I used to ride to work but then moved further away so I no longer do it, although I might drive part way and then bike the rest. I rode the MS 150 for the first time last year and hadn’t ridden more than 55 miles before doing 100. This year I hope to get to 60 before the MS ride. Keep working at it, it gives a pretty awesome sense of accomplishment going 30 or 60 miles.

    John – You must be tougher than me, I don’t like to ride outside if it’s much below 60 degrees and I know where you live it’s much colder than that! I have never made a map for a novel, although I do like to study maps such as the one in Lord of the Rings, but recently reading White Noise and Killing Floor I distinctly remember trying to place the towns in the book in my head and in Google Maps, unfortunately neither town actually exists!

  8. While in Rankin Inlet (actually colder than Iqaluit), I rode my bike to work every single day (yes, even some below -60). You dress warm, you survive. And the snow freezes so hard, you just ride above it. However, your tires go flat quickly in the cold! I don’t actually ride as much here. It’s much, much hillier and therefore more dangerous. Rankin was quite flat.

  9. Hello

    Great book. I just want to say what a fantastic thing you are doing! Good luck!

    Bye

  10. i hope to be there with you next April


Leave a comment

Categories